BBQ Seitan – Racquetball – Food Journal

17 Jan

Quick update for today!

Light breakfast: Apple + PB2 & cocoa powder

Lunch: Veg’n Chicken with couscous and peas (+ vegan cookie)

Post-Workout: Whey Protein Shake w/cocoa and vanilla bean extract

Dinner: I tried a BBQ Seitan Recipe I found online that was pretty simple. Equal parts Balsamic, Soy Sauce, and BBQ + water. I skipped the water, and added more BBQ sauce because I didn’t like the strong vinegar taste. I also mixed all sauces together before putting it over the seitan vs. adding one by one as the recipe has.

I have leftovers for tomorrow and will definitely make this again! It was very filling.

I’m really starting to love cooking with seitan! I didn’t realize how close in taste and texture it was to meat until I made this Vegan Beef Stroganoff recipe last week (I followed the recipe exact, and it turned out great! Even my picky husband and non-veg’n sister enjoyed it!) Also, it’s very high in protein and can easily be bought pre-made in Whole Foods or the Natural Foods Section at the grocery.

As a veg’n it’s not hard to get enough protein, but it is something I have to be aware of, at least right now when I’m cutting calories for weight loss. So, this is something that really ups my protein intake while staying low in calories.

Roasted "teeny tiny potatoes", Steamed Broccoli, BBQ Seitan

Roasted “teeny tiny potatoes”, Steamed Broccoli, BBQ Seitan

Food & Workout Summary

(click to view larger image)

(click to view larger image)

(click to view larger image)

(click to view larger image)

Don’t forget to check out my Workout Cal!

One Response to “BBQ Seitan – Racquetball – Food Journal”

  1. biggirlspants January 20, 2013 at 7:54 AM #

    great going girl xx

Leave a Reply

