DAY 19

16 Jun

______________________________

LBS Lost: 6 pounds as of DAY 12! Will weigh in again on DAY 21!

Exercise: <30 min of housework>

How I’m feeling: I actually feel pretty ‘full’ from everything I’ve eaten today… I probably went a little overboard even though everything was raw

Cheats: <none>

______________________________

Breakfast: Apple & Blackberries

Lunch: Spring Mix Salad + Cashew Cheese + 1/2 Avocado + Orange Tomato & Onion.

I made the Cashew Cheese last night out of soaked cashews, garlic powder, salt, pepper, fresh lemon juice, and nutritional yeast. It turned out REALLY good. I used the recipe on <this blog>, but changed a few things around based on what I had in the house.

This was SO easy and tasty, I’ll definitely be making this again. Although next time I think this spread on a piece of pita bread with some spinach and veggies sounds even better!

For my version of CASHEW CHEESE I basically threw everything into the blender, and blended. It turned out to be a little dry, but still tasted good. Next time when I have the apple cider vinegar in the house, I’ll use that and hopefully that’ll help moisten things up a bit.

 Dinner: Almond Milk

I finally made it the right way with my cheese cloth. Things I’ve realized after making almond milk: (a) it’s messy and (b) I have no idea what to do with the cheese cloth, so I threw it away. . . Do people reuse those things? If so, how on earth would anyone get that clean??? Mine was a mess!

After blending up the soaked almonds, dates and water, I poured everything through the cheese cloth, and squeezed out excess liquid from the almonds inside the cheese cloth. The milk tasted great! I really enjoyed this as opposed to the chunky/chalky taste of the last batch I made with no straining device.

…. Only thing is …. after straining all of the moisture out, I was left with the dry almond pulp. Raw almonds are expensive! So, I didn’t want to waste anything – instead of pitching the pulp, I made COCOA ALMOND TRUFFLES!

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

CARAMEL ALMOND TRUFFLES

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

  • Leftover almond pulp; put in blender

  • Add coconut oil, cocoa powder, agave nectar, quite a few dates (to keep everything sticking together)

  • Blend all ingredients until an almost smooth consistency. Or to the point where everything looks good and mixed together. If it looks too dry and a splash of water or more coconut oil

  • Roll into small balls and guide them through a plate of hemp seed until outside of truffle is covered. Let them ‘set’ for awhile in the fridge.

These turned out super SWEET and really RICH!!! MMMmmm!!!

Instagram Handle: cdanie11e

2 Responses to “DAY 19”

  1. melanie November 15, 2012 at 3:09 AM #

    The almond truffles look good!

    • Casey November 15, 2012 at 3:11 AM #

      Thanks! They were!

Leave a Reply

